North-East India Tours

The north-eastern states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura and Meghalaya, are often called the Seven Sisters. This region has international borders with China, Myanmar, Bhutan and Bangladesh. The largest of these is Assam, situated along the Brahmaputra valley. A rich diversity of traditions, languages, religions, climates and culture can be seen here.
Who hasn't heard about the famous tea gardens of Assam. The delightful hill stations of Meghalaya and the tribes of Arunachal, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura and Mizoram offer great opportunities for the tourists visiting this exotic land. There are more than 100 different tribes that exist here, each having a distinct and fascinating culture of its own. The region is also the home to a diverse range of flora and fauna that make it a paradise for nature lovers. The capitals of the states are as follows:

Arunachal PradeshItanagar


At the time of India's independence from the British Raj in 1947, only three states of Manipur, Tripura and Assam existed. The four new states were carved out in the later years. Nagaland achieved statehood in 1963, followed by Meghalaya in 1972. Mizoram became a Union Territory in 1972, and became a separate state, along with Arunachal Pradesh - in 1987.
Follow us on Twitter
Share your Travel Experience
Tip Suggestions Experience
Recent Reviews